FAI Aeromodelling Commission (CIAM)

24 Apr 2024

Launching the very first FAI E-Drone Racing World Cup!

Unleash your drone racing skills and join the new e-sport challenge against other pilots from around the world - without having to leave your favourite gaming chair. The very first FAI E-Drone Racing World Cup is here!

FAI is thrilled to announce that 2024 will further develop this fast-paced, accessible sport with a new E-Drone Racing World Cup for 2024 based on a series of 4 or 5 events, each with a different surprise circuit.

The EreaDrone 3D simulator permits designers to create a circuit around obstacles in amazing different environments, from mountains to cities, harbours to castles, etc. The track may be a closed circuit with several laps to be completed, or alternatively a track to be flown one time only. The total distance to complete during a race will be around 2-3km. The fastest pilots will be able to complete the race in just 60-90 seconds: quick reactions are everything in this exciting e-sport.

Pilots will have to use tactical manoeuvres and quick wits to stay ahead and climb the rankings from qualification rounds through to the finals.

EreaDrone Astro X

The challenge is on: COMPETITION requirements

Just as real-life drone pilots compete on a track at top speeds, so E-Drone pilots can now do the same, online at home, or from anywhere in the world. Competitors need minimal equipment to compete and the racing takes place remotely, meaning that it is easily accessible to anyone with a stable internet connection.

Requirements are:

  • A game controller (e.g. Xbox), or radio transmitter which may be identified as a controller by Windows (FrSky, RadioMaster, Taranis, BetaFPV, etc.)
  • A Windows computer with a video monitor and an internet connection 
  • An EreaDrone license: Purchase here 
  • See EreaDrone specs

EreaDrone track
Sample track around an aviation hangar display

About the World Cup

  • Website
  • Registration for the first 2024 FAI e-Drone Racing World Cup event will open on 18 May 2024.
  • Competitors will need to register in advance for each event, via the EreaDrone website, and pay the entry fee (maximum 5€).
  • Practice flight sessions will be planned before each event to familiarise the pilots with the circuit.
  • A qualification stage will be organised to select the pilots for the competition. Flights for that stage will be asynchronous, i.e. pilots fly alone on the circuit. Each pilot will have a maximum number of attempts, with the fastest time recorded for the qualification stage ranking.
  • The preliminary rounds of the competition will be run with 8 pilots per race, with the 4 best placed in each race qualifying for the next round, and the other pilots being eliminated.
  • The 32 pilots qualified after the preliminary round(s) go through to the final part of the competition. This will be run synchronously with 4 pilots per race, and will include 1/8th finals, quarter-finals, semi-finals and finals (16 races in total). The 2 best-placed pilots will be qualified for the next round up to the final race, with the other pilots being eliminated.
  • The final of the competition will be livestreamed on the FAI YouTube channel with an English language commentator.
  • For each event, points will be allocated to the participants depending on their ranking in the competition. The total World Cup score of the competitors will be the sum of their best three event results (numbers of points).
  • The best placed in the World Cup ranking will be awarded the title of 2024 e-Drone Racing World Cup champion, and CIAM medals and diplomas will be awarded to the three best placed. Other prizes may also be awarded as available.

Did you know?

2023 saw the first ever FAI E-Drone Racing competition take place, with the final part run in Namwon City, Republic of Korea as part of the FAI World Drone Racing Championships. French pilot Swan Versmissen took the champion title in a hard-fought contest against pilots who had qualified for the final race.

WRDC track
FAI E-Drone Racing Cup finals track 2023