The Aresti Cup, donated by Col. Jose L. Aresti of Spain to the FAI in the 1960's, is presented to the World Aerobatic Champion. The trophy was first presented in 1964 to Tomas Castano of Spain.

Not only the most prestigious award given in competition, the Aresti Cup is also truly a work of art --- created in silver with gold embellishments and featuring gold coins around its diameter symbolizing member nations of the Fédération Aéronautique Internationale. The trophy is topped with a golden globe which featured Col. Aresti's favorite aircraft, the Bücker Jungmeister, but which has now been lost to time. The names of past Champions are engraved around the base of the trophy.

Jose L. Aresti was the creator and author of the “Aresti Aerocryptographic System”, still in use today in all aerobatic competitions. 
World Aerobatic Champions since the first World Championships was held in 1960 include:

1960Bratislava, CzechoslovakiaLadislav BezákCzechoslovakia
1962Budapest, HungaryJosef TóthHungary
1964Bilbao, SpainTomas CastanoSpain
1966Moscow, USSRVladimir MartemianovUSSR
1968Magdeburg, GDRErwin BläskeGDR
1970Hullavington, UKIgor EgorovUSSR
1972Salon de Provence, FranceCharlie HillardUSA
1974Competition not held
1976Kiev, USSRVictor LetskoUSSR
1978Ceské Budéjovice, Czech.Ivan TucekCzechoslovakia
1980Oshkosh, USALeo LoudenslagerUSA
1982Spitzerberg, AustriaVictor SmolinUSSR
1984Békéscaba, HungaryPetr JirmusCzechoslovakia
1986South Cerney, UKPetr JirmusCzechoslovakia
1988Red Deer, CanadaHenry HaighUSA
1990Yverdon, SwitzerlandClaude BessiereFrance
1992La Havre, FranceCompetition not completed due to weather
1994Debrecin, HungaryXavier de LapparentFrance
1996Oklahoma City, USAVictor ChmalRussia
1998Trencin, SlovakiaPatrick ParisFrance
2000Muret, FranceEric VazeilleFrance
2001Burgos, SpainMikhail MamistovRussia
2003Lakeland, Florida, USASergey RakhmaninRussia
2005Burgos, SpainSergey RakhmaninRussia
2007Granada, SpainRamon AlonsoSpain
2009Silverstone, United KingdomRenaud EcalleFrance
2011Foligno, ItalyMikhail MamistovRussia